Solve Stellar Ionisation Homework: Type O Stars

In summary, the conversation discusses the ionisation rate of Type O stars and a line in the person's notes. They inquire about the formula for S* and why it seems to be the luminosity over the ionisation energy. The person also includes their understanding that S* is equal to the luminosity divided by the ionisation energy.
KaBash

Homework Statement

Hi, I am studying for a test on Monday and I was wondering if someone could clarify something in my notes on the ionisation rate of Type O stars. The line in my notes says;

L = 105L0 ⇒ S* ~ 105 /13.6eV ⇒ S* ~ 1049

Basically, I don't have an actual formula for S* and I was hoping someone could tell me if there is one and/or why it seems to be the luminosity over the ionisation energy?

Thanks for any help!

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I know 13.6eV is the ionisation energy for H(n=1)

Physics news on Phys.org
and that the luminosity of Type O stars is usually 105L0. I think they are saying that S* (the ionisation rate) is the luminosity divided by the ionisation energy, so L/13.6eV = 1049. Is this correct?

Related to Solve Stellar Ionisation Homework: Type O Stars

1. What are Type O stars?

Type O stars are a type of massive, hot, and luminous stars that have a surface temperature of over 30,000 Kelvin. They are the hottest and most massive type of stars, and are typically found in the arms of spiral galaxies.

2. How do Type O stars ionize their surroundings?

Type O stars have extremely high surface temperatures, which cause them to emit large amounts of ultraviolet radiation. This radiation strips electrons from atoms in the star's surroundings, creating ionized gas. This process is known as photoionization.

3. Why is studying Type O stars important?