Solve Net Ionic Equations: Chromium, Aluminium, Zinc

• Thread starter joejo
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ionic Net
In summary, Daniel is studying for the chemistry SAT and has a question that he is not sure that he has done right. Can someone please check his answer? Thanks in advance!
joejo
hi, I'm studying for the chemistry SAT and have a question that I'm not sure that I've done right...can someone please check my answer...thanks in advance!

Write a net ionic equation for the following:

a) Chromium dipped into silver nitrate
b) Aluminmum dropped into a bath of sulphuric acid
c) Zinc dipped into a solution of led (II) nitrate

answers:

a) Cr(s) + Ag+ (aq) --> Cr2+ (aq) + 2Ag (s)
b) d)Al3+ + H2SO4 --> Al2(So4)3 + H2
c) Zn2+ + Pb(NO3)2 --> Zn(NO3)2 + Pb2+

im not sure if I have to have the (s), (aq) etc...

can someone correct my answers if they are wrong...

thanks again

Physics news on Phys.org
A looks right. You have state symbols missing from B and in an ionic equation the hydrogen ions are not changing so are not needed (I believe). C also has no symbols and again the lead is not really changing for an ionic equation.

The Bob (2004 ©)

my friend helped me get a...the answers for b and c are mine...I still don't get it...can you please show me?

someone please my test is on thursday i need to study! Thanks guys

[tex] 2\mbox{Al}_{(\mbox{s})}+6\mbox{H}^{+}_{(\mbox{aq})} \rightarrow 2\mbox{Al}^{3+}_{(\mbox{aq})}+3\mbox{H}_{2}\uparrow [/tex]

(sulphate ions are spectators)

[tex] \mbox{Zn}_{(\mbox{s})}+\mbox{Pb}^{2+}_{(\mbox{aq})}\rightarrow \mbox{Zn}^{2+}_{(\mbox{aq})} +\mbox{Pb}\downarrow [/tex]

(nitrate ions are spectators)

Daniel.

And the first one needs another 2.It should read

[tex] \mbox{Cr}_{(\mbox{s})}+2\mbox{Ag}^{+}_{(\mbox{aq})}\rightarrow \mbox{Cr}^{2+}_{(\mbox{aq})}+2\mbox{Ag}\downarrow [/tex]

(Nitrate ions are spectators)

Daniel.

b. aluminum into sulfuric acid
If I remember how to do these correctly: