Solve for Equivalent Resistance - Resistor is shorted?

In summary, the conversation discusses a circuit problem where the solution involves redrawing the circuit and considering a 75 ohm resistor as a short. The individual also shares their attempt at solving the problem without redrawing the circuit and how it resulted in the same answer. The conversation concludes with the confirmation that this method is valid.
zr95

Homework Statement

I'm studying for a test and since this is technically a textbook problem I figured I'd post here to prevent being flagged.
upload_2016-9-25_14-6-36.png

I have the circuit redrawn.
upload_2016-9-25_14-3-32.png

Homework Equations

Series: Req = R1+R2...
Parallel: 1/Req= 1/R1 + 1/R2...

The Attempt at a Solution

I want to understand why when solving this circuit for Req it is (3 || 30) || 7.5 = 2ohms.
According to the solution I'm looking at the 75 ohm resistor is considered a short and no current flows across this? I don't understand why this is the case.

Also I was originally trying to be lazy and solve and just add things up without redrawing the circuit and ended up with 2ohms by doing:
((5||20)+2)||3 = 2ohms
Was this just coincidence?

Physics news on Phys.org
zr95 said:
I want to understand why when solving this circuit for Req it is (3 || 30) || 7.5 = 2ohms.
According to the solution I'm looking at the 75 ohm resistor is considered a short and no current flows across this? I don't understand why this is the case.
That is because the 75 ohm "resistor" is connected in parallel with a zero resistance piece of wire.

zr95 said:
Also I was originally trying to be lazy and solve and just add things up without redrawing the circuit and ended up with 2ohms by doing:
((5||20)+2)||3 = 2ohms
Was this just coincidence?
Nope, its not a coincidence - if you deform the circuit, your consideration is correct.

Likes zr95
You da man. That makes a lot of sense.

Related to Solve for Equivalent Resistance - Resistor is shorted?