Solve for 0<b<a: Proving Inequality & Approximation Error

In summary, the conversation discusses a question about variables and an inequality that involves x and a. The attempt at a solution involves expanding the inequality, using concepts of exponents, and connecting the statement involving a and b to the set of inequalities. The final statement suggests setting x as \left( \frac{b}{a} \right) ^2 and using algebra to solve for a. The person is seeking help with this question in order to continue their self-taught mathematics journey.
Alephu5

Homework Statement

Firstly, I'd just like to point out that this is not actually a course related question. I have been trying to teach myself mathematics, and have been grappling with this for a couple of days. The book has no answer at the back for this particular question.

Variables:
[itex]0<x<1[/itex]
[itex]0<b<a[/itex]

Show that [itex](1-\frac{1}{2}x^{2})^{2} < 1-x < (1-\frac{1}{2}x)^{2}[/itex]. Hence show that if [itex]0<b<a[/itex], the error in taking [itex] a-\frac{b^{2}}{2a}[/itex] as an approximation to [itex]\sqrt{a^{2}-b^{2}}[/itex] is positive and less than [itex]\frac{b^{4}}{2a^{3}}[/itex].

Homework Equations

N/A

The Attempt at a Solution

The first part is relatively easy:

Expansion of the inequality involving x gives:

[itex]1-x-\frac{3}{4}x^{2}+\frac{1}{2}x^{3}+\frac{1}{4}x^{4}<1-x<1-x+\frac{1}{4}x^{2}[/itex]​

Due to the fact fact that

[itex]0<x<1[/itex]​

The following is true:

[itex]x^{n}>x^{n+1}[/itex]​

This concept can be used to prove that

[itex]\frac{3}{4}x^{2}>\frac{1}{2}x^{3}+\frac{1}{4}x^{4}[/itex]​

The last part is more straightforward, it is simply due to the fact that:

[itex]\frac{1}{4}x^{2}>0[/itex]​

I have no idea how to connect the statement involving [itex]a[/itex] and [itex]b[/itex] to this set of inequalities, however from what I understand the initial statement is:

[itex]0<a-\frac{b^{2}}{2a}-\sqrt{a^{2}-b^{2}}<\frac{b^4}{2a^3}[/itex]​