Software Engineering: Scope, Pay & Job Demand

In summary, the conversation highlights the speaker's struggle with their current major in EE and their interest in switching to software engineering due to their love for programming. However, they are concerned about job prospects and pay in the field of software engineering. According to various sources, the job outlook for software engineers is actually positive and the starting salary is typically above 40k. It is important for the speaker to research and develop their skills in order to increase their chances of getting hired in the future.
robin105
I'm currently majoring in EE, and it's my first semester and I realized the math class I am in is like so far behind what I am suppose to be in. I know EE is a GREAT job, lots of money, lots of job demand (lots of people want to hire you), and such and such, but the math and physics is extremely intense, and I am already so far behind.

So I wanted to switch my major to Software Engineering. Now the good thing about software engineering is that it's all programming, and I LOVE PROGRAMMING. It's like my second nature, I just get it naturally (unlike math). Even if I don't know a language, it only takes me a few days to learn it.

But the problem is, everyones been saying how there hasn't been much hiring for software engineers. The job demand is bad, and pay isn't that great either. Now compared to EE, I know SE sucks, but I want to know how much scope there is with SE.

I was wondering about your opinions and facts about SE. What do you think about SE?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
"I was wondering about RSC's opinions and facts about SE (PLEASE FACTS ONLY!). Is the job that bad? Will I get hired in 4 years? Will I be working for under 40k? So, help please. "

How do you expect to get factual answers to these questions?