Sobolev Spaces different definitions

• Thread starter agahlawa
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Definitions
In summary: Sobolev spaces, as they differ in two books. One defines it as a space of locally summable functions with weak partial derivatives, while the other defines it as a subspace of L^2(a,b) with absolutely continuous functions and strong derivatives. Adi is wondering how these definitions can be equivalent and what the role of absolute continuity is. They later mention that the exercise proves that the conditions can be reduced to absolute continuity for functions from \mathbb{R} to \mathbb{R}.
agahlawa
Hi,

I am studying PDEs and I am confused by the definition of Sobolev spaces as they are different in two books. I'll write the definitions and mention the points of difference which I see despite which I still can't see the difference in definitions.

1) PDEs by Lawrence Evans

Let U be an open subset of [itex]\mathbb{R}^n[/itex]. The Sobolev space [itex]W^{k,2}(U)[/itex] consists of all locally summable functions [itex]u:U \rightarrow \mathbb{R}[/itex] such that all partial derivatives of [itex] u [/itex] upto order [itex]k[/itex] exist in [itex]\textbf{weak sense}[/itex] and the weak partial derivatives belong to [itex]L^p(U)[/itex].

2) The other definition from the book: Control of linear infinite dimensional systems by Curtain & Zwart is as follows:

For [itex]-\infty <a<b<\infty[/itex] we define the following subspace of [itex]L^2(a,b)[/itex]:

[itex]W^{k,2}(a,b):=\{u \in L^2(a,b) | u, \cdots , \frac{d ^{k-1}u}{dt^{k-1}} \text{ are absolutely continuous on } (a,b) \text{ with } \frac{d^k u}{dt^k} \in L^2(a,b). \}. [/itex]

[itex]W^{k,2}(a,b) [/itex] is a Sobolev space.

The obvious things to be noted:

1) In definition 1 the functions map an open subset of [itex] \mathbb{R}^n [/itex] to [itex] \mathbb{R}[/itex] where as in definition 2 the functions map an open subset of [itex] \mathbb{R} [/itex] to [itex] \mathbb{R}[/itex],