Small LED Thermometer - Beginner Electronics

In summary, the OP is looking for a way to change the color of a LED light depending on temperature. He is looking for a way to do this on an extremely small scale. He is looking for a way to do this with a single transistor and a thermometer output. He is looking for a way to do this with a schmitt trigger. Unfortunately, as we do not know what this 'thermometer' consists of, we cannot usefully speculate about suitable circuits.
nboston
Hi, I'm a freshman in college and a beginner in electronics. Does anyone know of a way to use a micro analog thermometer to change the color of a small LED light once it hits a certain temperature. I am looking to make this on an extremely small scale.

Engineering news on Phys.org
What is an extremely small scale? Centimeter? Millimeter?

How large can the transition region be? Just getting some color change depending on temperature is very easy, switching from "pure red" to "pure green" (as an example) within 1K will need more logic (probably something like a comparator).
Note that LEDs have a fixed color, changing the apparent color will need two different LEDs and some control over their current.

mfb said:

How large can the transition region be? Just getting some color change depending on temperature is very easy, switching from "pure red" to "pure green" (as an example) within 1K will need more logic (probably something like a comparator).
Note that LEDs have a fixed color, changing the apparent color will need two different LEDs and some control over their current.
I seem to remember that you could buy LED packages with two colours in them. You can produce an infinitely variable set of intermediate colours between the Red and Green of the diodes taken singly by varying the voltage supplied, iirc. Actually, I now remember I have two such indicators on the regulator for a Rutland 12v Wind Generator.