Electromagnetics Problem: Surface Integral of A(z) over a Hemispherical Surface

In summary: I am just wondering if I am doing something wrong with the dot product, or if my limits are incorrect...I am getting \int_{\mathcal{H}}\vec{A}\cdot{d}\vec{S}=\int_{0}^{2\pi}\int_{0}^{\pi/2}(3^3\sin\phi)(\sin\phi)(3^2\sin\phi{d}\theta{d}\phi)which gives me an answer of 81*pi/4...which is wrong.I am getting my limits from the following argument...if the
Firefox123
Electromagnetics problem...

Hello. I am an electrical engineer who is trying to improve my skills in several areas, one of which is electromagnetics.

I am using the book by David Cheng "Fundamentals in Engineering Electromagnetics" and doing some problems in that book.

I am having trouble with a problem in chapter 2 of that book (its problem 2-23 or 2-25 I believe)...anyway here is the problem...

***Note on my notation: I use bold to signify a vector, since I can't use an arrow on top of it. I also use the symbol "*" for the vector dot product***

Given a vector A(z) z and a hemispherical surface centered at the origin with radius 3 with the flat bottom in the xy plane find...

The surface integral of A(z) * ds.

I have tried it several ways and can't seem to get the answer...Maybe I am writing out the differential surface element incorrectly or my spherical expression for A(z) is wrong.

If someone could give me a worked out solution I would greatly appreciate it. I normally would not go on the internet for a solution, but I am an Army Reservist currently serving in Kuwait...so my resources for such things are somewhat limited.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Russ

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi, welcome to PF!
If you are familiar with the LATEX formatting system, this is available at PF;
check out the thread:
https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=8997

As to your problem, have you tried using Gauss' theorem?