Single photon energy and multiple observers

In summary, the conversation discusses the production and detection of a photon by a single excited electron in an atom. The questions revolve around the number of observers that will detect the photon, the measured energy of the photon, and the sum of all measured energies by multiple observers. It is concluded that, due to the Heisenberg uncertainty principle, at most one observer will detect the photon.
afcsimoes
I am not a student. I am a retired Chemical Engineer and a retired IT Auditor (ex-ISACA member). My questions are a product of my thoughts about Physics and the Cosmos and my talks with a closer friend. Please answer me.
Imagine an atom in a position P in the Universe and n observers, all them at a distance of d from it. An excited electron of the atom decays to a lower energy level and a photon is produced, whose energy is E (and is equal to the value of the difference between the electron's energetic levels before and after, isn't it?). (Remainder: a photon is an electro-magnetic wave that expands spherically from the point where the electronic transition has occurred).
Question 1: How many observers will detect the photon?
Question 2: What will be the measured value of the photon's energy that each observer will detect?
Question 3: What will be the value of the sum of all the measured energies by the n observers?
Question 4: When n goes to infinity what will be the value of the sum of the question 3?
Question 5: How this last value compares with the energy E of the electronic transition?

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi, afcsimoes, and welcome to PF!

afcsimoes said:
An excited electron of the atom decays to a lower energy level and a photon is produced, whose energy is E (and is equal to the value of the difference between the electron's energetic levels before and after, isn't it?).

Yes.

afcsimoes said:
a photon is an electro-magnetic wave