Simpler way to solve differential equation for initial value problem?

In summary, the differential equation \frac{dy}{dx}=x{\sqrt{y}} can be rewritten as y=(\frac{1}{4}x^2+\frac{11}{4})^2 given the initial condition f(3)=25. This was achieved using the variable separation method in integration.
kreil
Insights Author
Gold Member
Rewrite the differential equation [tex]\frac{dy}{dx}=x{\sqrt{y}}[/tex] in the form y=f(x) given the initial condition f(3)=25.

I am new to integration so I am unsure about my work on this problem.

[tex]\frac{dy}{dx}=x{\sqrt{y}}[/tex]

[tex]dy=(dx)(x)(\sqrt{y})[/tex]

[tex]\frac{dy}{\sqrt{y}}=(dx)(x)[/tex]

[tex]\int{\frac{dy}{\sqrt{y}}}=\int{(x)(dx)}[/tex]

[tex]2y^{\frac{1}{2}}=\frac{1}{2}x^2+ C[/tex]

[tex]10=\frac{9}{2}+C[/tex]

[tex]C=\frac{11}{2}[/tex]

[tex]2y^{\frac{1}{2}}=\frac{1}{2}x^2+\frac{11}{2}[/tex]

[tex]y=(\frac{1}{4}x^2+\frac{11}{4})^2[/tex]

If I did it correctly, is there an easier way to do it? If I messed up, where?

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Looks right to me.

It doesn't seem like that much work to me.

No, it's not a lot of work, I just thought that there might be others ways to arrive at the same answer.

Thanks

kreil said:
No, it's not a lot of work, I just thought that there might be others ways to arrive at the same answer.
Thanks

Nope,there's no simpler way to integrate that diff.eq. than the variable separation method.
Nice work!

Daniel.

Related to Simpler way to solve differential equation for initial value problem?

What is an initial value problem?

An initial value problem is a type of mathematical problem that involves finding a solution to a differential equation, given an initial value or condition.

What is the importance of initial value problems in science?