(simple)Journal Papers using Step Potential

In summary, the student is a beginner in quantum mechanics and is struggling to solve a journal paper that involves a step potential. They have been searching for days but have not been able to find anything simple enough. They have tried using different parameters and searching various databases, but have had no luck. The goal is to reproduce the theoretical calculations in the paper and verify them, but the student is having a hard time finding papers that are simple enough for them to understand. They are asking for help in finding a direction or suggestions for simpler papers to use.
infinitychic

Homework Statement

I am a beginning quantum mechanics student, and I need to solve a journal paper that uses the step potential fairly simply. I've been searching for (literally) days, but everything seems to be far too complicated. Can someone please point me in a direction, or offer some suggestions?

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I've searched iop, physics letters, aip and solid state electronics.
I've used parameters like "heterojuctions" "step potential limiting case" "scattering matricies"

I really appreciate any help - this is extremely frustrating, time consuming and unproductive. Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Do you mean you need to reproduce the theoretical calculations present which involve a step function? I'm not exactly clear on what you're trying to do.

Yes, I'm sorry.

The paper should present some sort of use of the step potential. Maybe approximating a more complex system.
I am supposed to (in painstaking detail) reproduce the equations in the paper based on the information given to verify them. Does that make sense?

I'm having a very difficult time finding papers simple enough for me to reproduce the calculations.

Related to (simple)Journal Papers using Step Potential

1. What is a step potential in a journal paper?