Simple harmonic motion Need help Im studying

In summary, the conversation discusses a spring supporting a mass on an incline and calculating the spring constant and oscillation frequency. Equations for acceleration and frequency are provided and the solution is found to be -8.99 kg*m for the spring constant and 0.9099 Hz for the oscillation frequency. To find the component of acceleration, the sinθ is used to find the force pulling the spring down, which is then used to find the spring extension and ultimately the spring constant.
NikkiNik

Homework Statement

A spring, of negligible mass and which obeys Hooke's Law, supports a mass M on an incline which has negligible friction. The figure below shows the system with mass M in its equilibrium position. The spring is attached to a fixed support at P. The spring in its relaxed state is also illustrated.

Mass M has a value of 275 g. Calculate k, the spring constant.

The mass oscillates when given a small displacement from its equilibrium position along the incline. Calculate the oscillation frequency.

http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d2/NikkiNik88/plot.png

Homework Equations

a=-k/m(x)
f= 1/2pi (sqrt(k/m))

The Attempt at a Solution

I used the mass given and .3m as x. I used the acceleration due to gravity for a.
I got -8.99 kg*m?? Is that correct

And for part b:
I used the equation above to solve for f
I got 0.9099 Hz

Physics news on Phys.org
Find the component of the acceleration due to gravity along the inclined plane. From the graph you can find the sinθ. Then find the force which pulls the spring down. Find the extension of the spring and then k.