Significance of Ws on a transcript

In summary, the conversation is about a student's dilemma of whether to take a W or keep a C in a one hour course called 'matrix computations'. The student is concerned about how this decision will affect their chances of getting into a top tier grad school, but also has other strong academic achievements and research experience to consider.
ZackVM
I know this has been asked before, but I am a little more curious about my specific case. I am a freshman at the University of Tennessee, and I have a W on my transcript for French from the fall semester. This semester, I took a one hour class called 'matrix computations' which is a very lite version of Linear Algebra. The grade was based on two exams, and I has other classes (Physics, Diff. Eq., Intro. to abstract math, Comp. Sci., and philosophy) that kept me busy, so I didn't go to most of the classes. I learned the concepts, and on the exams was able to write down the exact steps to get an answer, but I kept making arithmetic mistakes and have a C in the class, which is now over. I will be taking Linear Algebra (the full course) next semester. I was wondering if it would be worth it to take another W on my transcript, or just stick with the C. It's only a one hour course, but I want to know how grad schools like M.I.T. or CalTech will see this; in all my other classes I have As, and I'm working on two separate research projects with Oak Ridge National Lab. What should I do, will either option significantly hurt my chances at a top tier grad school, and is there any way to repair the damage? Thanks for the advice.

Physics news on Phys.org