Should I take solid state physics?

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of taking a solid state physics class at the undergraduate level. The speaker mentions they have a decent grasp of quantum mechanics and asks for advice on what topics from quantum mechanics and statistical mechanics would be useful to review before starting the course. The other person recommends being familiar with the Fermi-Dirac distribution, knowing what the Schrodinger equation is, and being able to solve it for a particle in a 1-D well. They also note that solid state physics is an interesting class and does not require extensive mathematical skills, but rather focuses on learning how to think about solids.
ZetaOfThree
Gold Member
I am an undergrad and for the most part I am looking for a good physics class to take. I am considering taking solid state physics at the level of Kittel as its one of the only physics classes offered at the undergrad level this semester that I haven't taken. I haven't taken quantum mechanics yet (it's not offered this semester), but I have a decent grasp of it from self-study. I mention this because quantum is a prereq. What things from quantum should I be solid with for studying solid state physics? Also, do you think solid state is interesting? I'm not really taking this class for research interests or anything, just to further my general knowledge of physics. I plan to talk to the professor about all this, but I am still curious of your opinions. What do you think?

Physics news on Phys.org
Solid-State Physics (and the Kittel text) are incredibly interesting. One of my favorite classes. Even though solid-state physics is built on a foundation of QM, most of the math you use to solve problems is statistical mechanics and the rest is typically developed in the course. When I took it QM was used to develop the idea of quantum states in a periodic lattice, but after that explicit QM wasn't used much.