Should I take calculus 2,3 and diff. eqs at CC while in HS?

In summary: I'm still a physicist and I didn't really need the extra math. If you're worried about college application, you could always take the SAT and ACT instead, they're both math-oriented.In summary, taking calculus 2,3, and differential equations by the end of your senior year at the local community college would be a wise choice. Taking these math classes before you use them in physics would hinder your learning, but you might gain an advantage in college applications if you did so.
casualluchador
Hi I was wondering if taking calculus 2,3, and differential equations by the end of my senior year at the local community college would be a wise choice. Would taking these math classes before i use them in physics hinder my learning? (I want to be a physicist). Would I gain an advantage in college applications if i were to choose this path?

Physics news on Phys.org
Bad idea in general, but what YOU might accomplish depends on what efforts YOU are able to give and succeed in doing. Taking as much as just "Calculus 2" in a community college and doing well in it while still also attending high school is extraordinary. First, you must be well accomplished academically at Intermediate Algebra and Trigonometry as would come from such courses at the community college; and then do very well in Calculus 1 as from the community college. Good at all of them? Then maybe you are ready for the c.c. course on Calculus 2.

Likes casualluchador
Most of the Calculus and beyond courses I've seen at community colleges are sub par.

The more math (Calc and beyond) you take at a community college, the worse off you will be compared with taking these at a university that has a good physics major.