Should I Pursue Engineering or Mathematical Physics?

• Programs
  • Thread starter narayan.rocks
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Degree
In summary: If you want to be a physicist and don't have the inclination to do overloaded works then go for Mathematics.
narayan.rocks
I am an high school student starting grade 11 this year . I have been interested in physics since class 6 and i have been studying advanced physics since then . IN grade 9 and 10 i have read and solved problems from Resnick,halliday and walker's book ( which i think is a undergrad book isn't it? ) and i completed it .
I thought myself calculus( integration , differentiation and solving differential equations and nothing more) , trigonometry , higher algebra and geometry side by side with physics .

i love physics and math and have a deep interest in them . My grasp of physics and math concepts is very good.

My parents insist me to become an engineer as it would land me a higher paying job .
I want to be a mathematical physicist which my parents think isn't a good field and i won't get a good job and would end up a teacher.

what should i do should i go for engineering or mathematical physics. say the pros and cons of each field.

If i decide to go for mathematical physics should i go for APPLIED MATHEMATICS or PHYSICS major or should i major in both or should i take a major and a minor.

please help

Physics news on Phys.org
Engineering is definitely a good discipline to enter. Right now, petroleum engineers are garnering big salaries.

You are still pretty young and have about 2 to 3 three years to decide on what you want to do. so don't be hasty.

Another area that may interest you is Computer Science. Its a constantly changing field and always needs talented people. If you were to combine your skills together to do computational physics or computational engineering then that would be very valuable.