Should I Pursue a Physics Minor or Focus on Nuclear Engineering Research?

In summary: In your case, you can take a minor in physics if you want, but you won't be doing anything like a nuclear engineer would.
DR13
Sorry this is so long...

I am majoring in nuclear engineering (currently first year) and I am making my schedule for next year. It looks like this so far:
MechE 235 (Thermodynamics, 3 credits)
Math 425 (Prob and Stats, 3 credits)
Film 236 (Intro class, 4 credits)
Undergrad research (2 credits)

This is only 12 credits which is obviously a very light load. My counsleor laid out a 4-yr plan for my graduation and I will have plenty of credits to graduate. However, I have some other options open to me if I choose to pursue them:

With my current plan I end up one class shy of a physics minor. It would be a 3 credit, 300 level class on waves, heat and light with a 2 credit lab attached. This course really does not interest me but if it would help out my career a lot to have the minor then I would bite the bullet and take it in the upcoming semester.

The current research that I am doing is through the Materials Science and Engineering department. My counselor said that I could also sign on to one of the nuclear professors and do work for two labs. My worry about this is that although I have time this semester, I would not have enough time for the next three years to keep it up. So then I would have to decide which research group to stay with. I would prefer to work with the nuclear department since that is, after all, my major. However, I am happy with the group I am with now. I have a lot of responsibility and freedom and they have been very good to me. I would hate to switch to a situation where I do not get to do any of the real research. I plan on emailing a few professors and hopefully they will be honest with me about how much responsibility I would actually have.