Should I major in physics or engineering?

In summary: Licensing boards are going to be more likely to accept your degree if it says 'engineering' rather than 'physics,' though this is not guaranteed.
Doctor Dee
I'm a high school student, and I am not sure if I want to get a degree in engineering (electrical or aerospace) or physics? I would like to go to graduate school eventually and get a job in industry.
My interests: I love everything about space, and I would love to work for a company like SpaceX or NASA to design and work with spacecraft . However, I am also interested in some physics-heavy fields. For instance, it would be awesome if I could work on a quantum computer, or even work at CERN and experiment with particle physics.
I am wondering what a good path to follow would look like. So far, my options seem to be
- Aerospace engineering bachelors and eventually masters
- Electrical engineering bachelors and masters
- Physics bachelors and then PhD (is that how it usually goes?)
- I have also read about Applied Physics and that really interests me. However, with applied physics, what degrees do people normally get? Is it usually an undergrad followed by a masters or a phd?

With a physics or applied physics degree, could I still get jobs that are normally reserved for "engineers" by title?

Physics news on Phys.org
You're looking too far ahead. You need to focus on getting into a good college, one with strong physics and engineering programs, and to make your decision after a year or so - after you have taken both physics and engineering courses.

Likes CalcNerd
Doctor Dee said:
My interests: I love everything about space, and I would love to work for a company like SpaceX or NASA to design and work with spacecraft . However, I am also interested in some physics-heavy fields. For instance, it would be awesome if I could work on a quantum computer, or even work at CERN and experiment with particle physics.