Should a Freshman Take a Sophomore-Level Math Methods in Physics Course?

In summary, a sophomore level physics course at a university recommends that all physics majors retake the intro course sequence. The class is considered a "pre-requisite" for a more advanced physics course, but the professor warned the student that no freshman has ever taken the class before. The student is encouraged to look through the course materials on the previous years website to decide if they would like to enroll. Taking the class is not a bad idea, but the student should be prepared for a challenging class.
occh
I am a second-semester undergraduate in Physics and I have been looking to do some extra course work in my major beyond the intro course sequence. I took what was basically the equivalent of AP physics in high school, but the program at my university STRONGLY recommends that all physics majors retake the advanced levels of the intro physics sequence. I have decided to heed this recommendation but I want to do more if I can. There is a course at my university, considered a sophomore level, that is focused on mathematics methods in physics and it introduces: complex analysis, differential operators, integral transforms, ODE's and PDE's and special functions. The plan of study generally recommends taking this class after multivariable and the intro course sequence in the fourth semester. I emailed the professor and he gave me permission to take the course, however he warned that no freshman has ever taken the class before and encouraged me to look through the course materials on the previous years course website if i decided to enroll. Looking through these materials, it appears challenging, but not completely over my head. My math background includes through multivariable calculus and will be taking DiffEQ next semester as well. Does taking this course sound like a bad idea? Any advice would be most appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org