Shortest Path to a PhD in Math or Theoretical Physics?

In summary, the individual is a rising sophomore double majoring in math and physics. They are considering pursuing a PhD in one of these fields, but are also open to other options. They are particularly interested in researching in Theoretical or Mathematical Physics and are considering options in Europe where a PhD can be completed in 3 years. However, they are also concerned about the potential for a shorter PhD program to affect their competitiveness in the job market. They are exploring options such as finishing their bachelor's degree in 3 years and taking graduate courses, but are seeking advice on the feasibility and advisability of these options. The conversation also includes a discussion on the education system in Europe and how it differs from the US.
ahsanxr
As of right now I'm a rising sophomore, math and physics double major. It's hard to say whether I'm going to be pursuing a PhD in one of these disciplines or whether I'll be switching to something more employable later, as I haven't had many upper division classes. I do, however, strongly suspect that I'll certainly enjoy and feel challenged by them. Secondly, the prospect of researching in Theoretical or Mathematical Physics, especially for a TOE seems highly attractive to me. So chances are I will be pursuing a PhD in one of these fields.