Set Theory for Beginners: How is A' ⊆ A and its Complement a Subset of A?

In summary: Hi Euge,Thanks for your reply, but maybe I should rephrase my question: Could you explain what "the image of a set A' ⊆ A is the set: f(A') = {b | b = f(a) for some a ∈ A'}" actually means? Could you break it down? I don't understand what an image of a set is even after reading the definition here.Also, thanks for answering my second question -- I think I understand that now.Suppose you have function $f : A \to B$. This means that for every $a\in A$, there corresponds a unique $b\in B$ such that $f(a) = b
Romono
Could someone please explain how the image of a set A' ⊆ A is the set: f(A') = {b | b = f(a) for some a ∈ A'}. And how can the complement of A be a subset of A? Forgive my ignorance here, I'm a beginning student of set theory.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Romono,

The answer to your first question is by definition. For your second question, the complement of $A$ (in $A$) is the empty set, and the empty set is a subset of $A$.

Euge said:
Hi Romono,

The answer to your first question is by definition. For your second question, the complement of $A$ (in $A$) is the empty set, and the empty set is a subset of $A$.

Hi Euge,

Thanks for your reply, but maybe I should rephrase my question: Could you explain what "the image of a set A' ⊆ A is the set: f(A') = {b | b = f(a) for some a ∈ A'}" actually means? Could you break it down? I don't understand what an image of a set is even after reading the definition here.

Also, thanks for answering my second question -- I think I understand that now.

Suppose you have function $f : A \to B$. This means that for every $a\in A$, there corresponds a unique $b\in B$ such that $f(a) = b$. Given $a \in A$, the element $f(a) \in B$ is called the image of $a$. Thus, given a subset $A'$ of $A$, $f(A')$ is the set of images $f(a')$, as $a'$ ranges over $A'$.