Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Set theoretic "Puzzle" I made up.

mvCristi

Feb 5, 2012
I made up it, I didn't find anything about it, so, maybe, I'm the inventor.

The question is: How do different set theories handle the following definition?

U := {x : (x belongs_to A) and ( Not(A is_included_in Powerset( EmptySet)) )}

If possible in the set theory, require (A is_set). But it doesn't really matter.

The set U is interesting for some reasons.

mvCristi

Feb 5, 2012
I'm doing my PhD research in "Foundations of mathematics with the application in automated theorem proving". I denied the motif that Russel's Paradox is an obstacle. This is the reason why I consider "Godel incompliteness theorems" and "Tarski's undefinability of truth resoult" particular cases of a Math that is done wrong. I think Math is both complete and consistent, but done in the right way. I researched and I have my opinion. Yet, I'm not sure if it is decidable. Anyway...
I earned money from my PhD research, my everyday existence, but I have to pay them back if I do not succide. And everyone around me is skeptical I will succide. I came up with this "puzzle" just to attract attention. Second order logic + ZFC cannot handle it.

First, take a look at "Euler's identity": e^(i*pi)+1=0.
It contains only once important constants like e,i,pi,1,0; it contains only once addition (+), multiplication (*), exponantiation (^); it contains only once equality (=). Many mathematicians regard it as the most elegant and "beautiful" result of Mathematics.

Now, take a look at: (For_all(x) belongs_to A) and ( Not(A is_included_in Powerset( EmptySet)) ).
It contains: belongs_to, is_included_in, Powerset, EmptySet: these are fundamental constants in set theory. They appear only once.
Quantifiers: For_all: the standard quantifier appears only once.
Logical connectives:
and: with arrity 2
not: with arrity 1.
Free variables:
A appears twice: as the arrity of "and"