Separation of variables technique - When is valid? (and other questions)

In summary, an expert summarizer would say the following about this conversation:The person is discussing how to solve second order differential equations and how to find solutions that are linear combinations of specific solutions. They explain that the procedure is called "separation of variables" and is valid when the equation is linear. They also mention that there is a method of transforming a linear differential equation into an algebraic equation that can be solved using Fourier calculus.
falbani
Hi. This is my first post in PF. I'm an undergraduate student of Electronics Engineering with strong interest in math & physics (and weak understanding of them :P).

One of the things I always hate is when in some book (or some lectures) ODEs or PDEs are solved after the magic words "[...] and by virtue of separation of variables [...]", and do not care to specify under which conditions such procedure is valid and guarantees uniqueness of solution.

For the sake of unambiguity, I'm talking about the technique that imply searching only for solutions of the form F(x, y) = X(x) · Y(y).

For example, take the Wave Equation, a 2nd order PDE:

[tex]\nabla^2 u - \frac{1}{c^2} \frac{\partial^2 u }{\partial t^2} = 0[/tex]

for which we know that a general solution is of the form:
(supose 1D for simplicity)

[tex] u(x, t) = g(x - ct) + h(x + ct) [/tex].

I can't see any way of expresing that as a product of a function exclusively of 'x' and a function exclusively of 't'. Where I would ended with 'separation of variables'?

Other questions:

How this technique doesn't restrict the solution? I'm always afraid of "losing" solutions on the way.