Senior Thesis Topic: Astrophysics & Relativity

In summary, Brian is interested in studying general relativity, relativistic fluid dynamics, and electrodynamics. He is looking for guidance on what to study for his thesis, and is looking for recommendations on good reading materials. He also asked whether it would be a good idea to have a faculty member supervising his thesis.
Brian T
Hello all!
I plan on doing a senior thesis in order to graduate with Honor's in Physics (Specialization Astrophysics). Although I'm only in my second year, I wish to begin research to be better prepared for when I actually pair with an adviser for directed study and thesis writing. I plan on writing a theoretical thesis (I am in an experimental research group, but would rather have a theoretical thesis).

I have recently become very interested in general relativity, relativistic fluid dynamics, and electrodynamics. I have begun to study these topics by my own but still have much to learn. Does anybody have any thoughts on what would be good to study for my thesis? Of course, I do not want someone to directly tell me a topic, but rather am seeking for a little guidance to help push me in the right direction and narrow down my study.

I have seen a senior thesis on the derivation of the Schwarzschild metric/solution which was interesting to read. Any ideas / topics / suggestions for reading would be greatly appreciated. Thank you :wink:

Physics news on Phys.org
One thing you can do is to get copies of good senior theses to see what is required to write one and the depth of understanding needed.

Next I would really focus on your coursework, especially mathematics courses as they will be needed for any theoretical topic. Your advisor should be able to provide a list of math courses relevant to GR. At a minimum, you will need to understand Vector Calculus and Tensor Analysis in order to deal with GR topics.

Likes Brian T