Self Taught Abstract Mathematics Course?

In summary, the conversation discusses recommendations for a self-teaching course in abstract mathematics. The individual has attempted to teach themselves abstract algebra and linear algebra but struggles to find the discipline to stick with the topic. They have good intuition for understanding mathematical concepts but lack motivation to do rigorous proofs. A possible strategy is to use an online course and then explore on their own. One recommended course is Herstein's textbook with suggested problems and a potential blog for homework assignments.
Aero51
Self Taught Abstract Mathematics Course??

Good evening everyone! I would like to know if anyone has any recommendations for a self-teaching course in abstract mathematics. I have attempted to teach myself abstract algebra and linear algebra but for some reason I cannot find the discipline to stick with the topic. I find this strange because I have taught myself other subjects related to fluid mechanics and thermodynamics with little difficulty.

In general, I find that I have pretty good intuition for understanding mathematical concepts, but I cannot motivate myself to sit down and do the proofs rigorously; I tend get bored. Perhaps there is a strategy or a mindset for learning mathematics outside the classroom which I have yet to learn.

Thoughts?

Physics news on Phys.org
you could pace yourself using an online course amd then explore on your own as you see fit.

Here's a possible course to start with:

http://www.math.niu.edu/~beachy/abstract_algebra/study_guide/contents.html

Hi Aero51,

I am currently trying to teach myself abstract algebra over the Summer. I rented Herstein's textbook from the library and have been following this syllabus: http://www.metu.edu.tr/~pasemra/math367.html