Self Studying Math (Geometry through Calculus)

In summary: I have Geometry, Trigonometry, Intermediate Algebra, and Calculus 1 so far. Do you have any suggestions on what order to do the courses in?
Ethan Hummel
Hi I was wondering how long it would take to self study math using Khan Academy and supplement the website with a self teach book from Geometry through Calculus. I am a sophomore in high school and I am hoping to take the CLEP exams for Calculus and College Algebra after senior year. I was wondering if it would take a couple months or what and if anybody else did something similar to this, also some suggestions would be helpful. Also let's say I study about 10 hours a week. Thank you much!

Physics news on Phys.org
Estimates if learning goes well:
Geometry, 6 months minimum
Trigonometry, 4 months
Intermediate Algebra, 4 months
College Algebra or Pre-Calculus, 4 months
Calculus 1, 4 months

Total estimated time: 22 months, or about 2 years.

A good, standard textbook is needed for each course. College level, and community college books are fine, even if you are a high school student. You need though to take care of prerequisites, and do the courses about in the order listed. The "Intermediate Algebra" is listed out-of-place, and should come either before or after Geometry.

You need to be very determined and motivated to study this on your own. The effort will require studying every day, and you must be willing to review more than once.

Thankyou so much symbolipoint for responding. I do have a few more questions. How many hours a day do you suggest I study a day, and is there any possible way that I could reduce this time because that is very daunting 22 months:smile::smile:.

Ethan Hummel said:
Thankyou so much symbolipoint for responding. I do have a few more questions. How many hours a day do you suggest I study a day, and is there any possible way that I could reduce this time because that is very daunting 22 months:smile::smile:.