Self Learning / Reference texts

In summary, when looking for the best textbooks in various disciplines, it is important to consider the quality and credibility of the sources. Some highly recommended textbooks for biochemistry, organic chemistry, genetics, and biochemistry include "Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry" by David L. Nelson and Michael M. Cox, "Organic Chemistry" by Jonathan Clayden, Nick Greeves, and Stuart Warren, "Genetics: Analysis and Principles" by Robert J. Brooker, and "Biochemistry" by Jeremy M. Berg, John L. Tymoczko, and Lubert Stryer. These textbooks are widely used and well-respected in their respective fields.
grasshoppa
Hi there,

I found this site while looking for the "best" textbooks in various disciplines. I am majoring in biochemistry, but I rarely buy textbooks. I usually download (torrent) them because I am unsure of their quality and reputation, and I am also usually quite broke. However, I do want to start collecting some textbooks to use for reference, refreshing old material, and self-teaching. From what I've read around here so far I've put the following books on my list:

General Chemistry - by Linus Pauling

Calculus Made Easy - by Silvanus P. Thompson

The Feynman Lectures on Physics - by Richard P. Feynman

Campbell Biology - by Jane B. Reece, et al.

I am still looking for good / classics texts for Organic Chemistry, Genetics and Biochemistry. I already have a Physical Chemistry textbook by Thomas Engel but I'm open to selling it and getting something else.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Physics news on Phys.org

Hi there,

As a scientist with a background in biochemistry, I can definitely understand your desire to find the best textbooks for your studies. While downloading textbooks may seem like a cost-effective option, it is important to consider the quality and credibility of the sources you are using.