Segmentation of a binary image

In summary, the user is seeking help with a problem involving a binary image derived from a grayscale MRI image. The image has good contrast for differentiating WM/GM, but also contains non-brain tissue such as skull and noise. The user is looking for a simple algorithm to automatically remove all non-brain tissue based on a defined boundary.
Wo0p
Hello PF users,

This is my first time on these forums. I'm not sure this is exactly the right place for this question, but as I couldn't find an image processing sub forum I'm posting it here in the hopes someone can help me!

Homework Statement

I have a binary image (see below) derived from a grayscale MRI image by thresholding.

Hyboh.png

LcFmC.png

The contrast I'm using is supposed be good for differentiating WM/GM. The problem is that it also picks up a lot of skull and noise (you can see it on the edge of the brain) which are lumped together with WM. I want to get rid of this non-brain tissue and create a WM-only mask.

Homework Equations

N/A

The Attempt at a Solution

What I've done before is to use ImageJ to manually remove the obviously non-brain voxels. This is very traumatizing and depressing. How would you solve this problem?

Physics news on Phys.org
Is there a simple algorithm I can implement where I define a boundary for the brain and it automatically removes all non-brain tissue? Thank you in advance!

Segmentation of a binary image is the process of dividing the image into distinct regions or segments based on certain criteria or features. In your case, you are trying to segment the image to separate the white matter (WM) from other non-brain tissue and noise.