Seeking Recommendation on Linear Algebra Textbooks

In summary, the college sophomore is seeking recommendations for one or two outstanding linear algebra textbooks to supplement their theoretical linear algebra course using Friedberg as the required textbook. They are considering books such as Hoffman/Kunze, Axler, Serge Lang, and Anton, but are unsure of their contents. They have already purchased Hoffman/Kunze at a discounted price and plan to use it as a supplementary reading alongside Friedberg. They are also considering advanced and applied/computational linear algebra texts, such as Roman's, but are wondering if they will be at a disadvantage for skipping Axler and Treil.
bacte2013
Dear Physics Forum personnel,

I am a college sophomore in U.S. with a major in mathematics and an aspiring algebraic number theorist. I wrote this email to seek a recommendation on one or two outstanding linear algebra textbook that can supplement the Linear Algebra (Friedberg et al.), which is a required textbook for my theoretical linear algebra course for Fall 2015. I always enjoy studying from multiple textbooks so it would be nice for me to purchase one or two more LA books to supplement my main textbook. Ones that I currently have in mind are Hoffman/Kunze, Axler, Serge Lang, Anton, etc. but I am clueless of their contents. Could you recommend one or two LA textbooks that I can use in accordance with Friedberg?

PK

Physics news on Phys.org
While you're waiting for responses, you might try using the forum search feature (top right of the page) to search for the word "linear", ticking the boxes "Search titles only" and "Search this forum only". I've moved this thread to the textbooks forum, so most of the search results will be about linear algebra textbooks. Good luck!