Seeking a Recommendation for C++ Book

In summary, the individual is seeking guidance on learning the C++ programming language for their upcoming research in theoretical computing and cryptography. They prefer to learn from books rather than online sources and are looking for recommendations for an introductory level book and a more advanced and referencing book. The suggested books are "C++ How To Program" by Dietels for an introductory level and "C++ Primer" by Stanley Lippman for intermediate level. It is advised to avoid starting with Bjarne Stroustrup's book as it is more suitable for intermediate and advanced learners.
bacte2013
Dear Physics Forum advisers,

I am trying to learn the C++ programming language as I need it for my upcoming research in the theoretical computing and cryptography. This is my first time learning the programming language so I am seeking two books (I prefer to learn from the books than using online sources), one covering C++ in the introductory level and one as a detailed, advanced, and referencing book. Could help me?

PK

Physics news on Phys.org
For the reference book: Bjarne Stroustrup's "The C++ Programming Language", most recent edition.

Likes gillouche
The best introductory C++ book would be C++ How To Program By Dietels.
After finishing it, go for C++ Primer by Stanley Lippman. It will drive you to the intermediate level.

DO NOT ever think about starting with Bjarne Stroustrup's book, it is an intermediate/advanced book, and it will drive you crazy if you start with it.

Related to Seeking a Recommendation for C++ Book

1. What is the best C++ book for beginners?

The best C++ book for beginners is "C++ Primer" by Stanley Lippman, Josée Lajoie, and Barbara E. Moo. It provides a comprehensive introduction to the language and covers key concepts and features in a clear and concise manner.

2. Are there any C++ books specifically for game development?