Second Order Differential Equations in MatLab

In summary, to model a stiff differential equation in MatLab, you need to define the function for dy and set the boundary conditions before calling it in ode15s. The syntax for defining the function should include the variables x and y, and the boundary conditions should be set using the xspan and ic variables. Don't forget to plot the solution using the plot() function.
nasko89
Hey guys, I am new to PF. I need to be able to model a stiff differential equation in MatLab. I haven't used MatLab before so I am not really sure how to set the function and boundary conditions for the equation:

y'' + (2/x)*Y' = (.7/x^2)*( (y^(-1/2)) - (.067)((1-y)^(-1/2) )

y(0)=0
y'(1)=1
The zero boundary is undefined and there is a lot of singularities in the solution itself.

So far I have:

function dy = f(x,y)
y = [1 1];
k = .7;
lambda = .67;
xspan = [0 10];
ic = [0 1];
dy=[y(2); (-2/x) * y(2) + (k/(x)^2)*( (y(1)^(-1/2)) - lambda*((1-y(1)))^(-1/2) )];
[x,y] = ode15s(@f,xspan,ic);
plot(x,y(:,1),'-o')

And I am getting a an error in the command console:

? Input argument "x" is undefined.

Error in ==> f at 7
dy=[y(2); (-2/x) * y(2) + (k/(x)^2)*( (y(1)^(-1/2)) -
lambda*((1-y(1)))^(-1/2) )];

I do not know where to go from here.

Physics news on Phys.org
Can someone help me out?You need to define the function for dy before calling it in ode15s. The syntax should be something like this: function dy = f(x,y) k = .7; lambda = .67; dy=[y(2); (-2/x) * y(2) + (k/(x)^2)*( (y(1)^(-1/2)) - lambda*((1-y(1)))^(-1/2) )];endxspan = [0 10];ic = [0 1];[x,y] = ode15s(@f,xspan,ic);plot(x,y(:,1),'-o')

Related to Second Order Differential Equations in MatLab

1. What is a second order differential equation?

A second order differential equation is a mathematical equation that relates the second derivative of a function to the function itself. It is commonly used to model physical phenomena that involve acceleration or change over time.