Searching PHP & MySQL: Roots, Prefixes, & Suffixes

In summary: Glad it works now!In summary, the conversation discusses a problem with a PHP code for a search engine on a database with one table and six fields. The goal is to display values from certain fields if they match the input from a search form. The issue is resolved by using the string concatenation operator in the SQL statement.
klusener
Hi everyone,

I'm just beginning to learn php, but I'm working on a small script where I'm trying to search a few fields in a table and if the values match, other fields in the same row are displayed.

The db has just one table with 6 fields: ID (primary key), words, definitions, roots, prefixes, and suffixes.

I'm trying to make the search engine get the value from a search form, check it against roots, prefixes, and suffixes. If any of them equal the value, the values from words, and definitions need to be displayed.

But, for some reason it just doesn't work when I arrange the code like this:

$query = "SELECT words, definitions FROM Etym WHERE roots = '$trimm' OR prefixes = '$trimm' OR suffixes = '$trimm'";

I'm attaching both the search.php and the search form, if any of you would like to help me out of this mess. I would really appreciate any advice.

Thanks.

Attachments

• searchform.txt
    410 bytes · Views: 301
  • search.txt
    5 KB · Views: 485
Technology news on Phys.org
Not familiar with PHP, but doubt it would parse that string.
Chances are you need to use a string concatenation operater to insert your variables in the string.
$query = "SELECT words, definitions FROM Etym WHERE roots = '" + $trimm + "' OR prefixes = '" +

I think the string concatination operator in PHP is a period.

$query = "SELECT words, definitions FROM Etym WHERE roots = " . $trimm . " OR prefixes = " . $trimm . " OR suffixes = " . $trimm;

j777 said:
I think the string concatination operator in PHP is a period.