Rotational Kinetic Energy Problems

In summary: So the U(final) + K(final) = U (initial) + K(initial) equation only applies to the disk... so the kinetic energy of the particle is only related to the disk's kinetic energy because it is attached to it?Yes, that's correct. The particle's kinetic energy is included in the disk's kinetic energy because it is attached to the disk and therefore moves with it. In summary, In the first problem, a uniform disk with a particle attached is given a gentle nudge and begins to rotate freely about a horizontal axis. The angular velocity of the disk when the particle is at its lowest point can be found by considering the conservation of energy and using the rotational inertia of the disk. The force required to
yus310
Hello. I'm an intro physics student, who needs help with physics problem, because my graduate student refuses to help anybody in my class anyway... here is my first question on rotational kinetic energy

1) "A uniform disk of mass M and radius R can rotate freely about a horizontal axis through its center and perpendicular to the plane of the disk. A small particle of mass m is attached to the rim of the disk at the top, directly above the pivot. The system is given a gentle nudge, and the disk begins to rotate."

a) "What is the angular velocity of the disk when the particle is at its lowest point?"
b)"At this point, what force must be exerted by the disk on the particle to keep it stuck to the disk"

... First of all where should I start with part a)? And how does rotational kinetic energy apply to this problem. Second, how do I find the force for part b)

My second question is...

2) "A uniform ring 1.5 m in diameter is pivoted at one point on its perimeter so that it is free to rotate about a horizontal axis. Intially, the line joining the support point and the center is horizontal."

a) "If the ring is released from rest, what is its maximum angular velocity?"