Role of determinate states in quantum mechanics

In summary, the conversation discusses the basics of quantum mechanics, starting with the postulation that all states must be solutions to the Schrödinger equation. The conversation also touches on the statistical interpretation of the wave function and the introduction of operators corresponding to observables. The use of linear algebra in the formalism of quantum mechanics is also mentioned, along with the concept of determinate states and their relation to the spread in expectancy values. The conversation concludes with a discussion on the "plan of attack" for solving quantum mechanical problems, which involves finding eigenstates of operators and expressing the wave function in this basis to determine the expectancy value.
MatthijsRog
Hi,

I'm an undergrad, following my very first serious course in QM. We're following Griffith's book, and so far we're staying close to the text in terms of course structure.

Griffiths starts out his book by postulating that each and every state for any system [itex]\Psi[/itex] must be a solution to the Schrödinger equation. He then introduces two things. Firstly the statistical interpretation of this function. Secondly he introduces the notion of operators [itex]\hat{Q}[/itex] corresponding to observables [itex]Q[/itex] so that the integral over [itex]\Psi^* \hat{Q} \Psi[/itex] gives the expectancy value for the observable [itex]Q[/itex]. So far I understand everything.