Revolutionizing Vehicle Energy Efficiency with Regenerative Shock Absorbers

• Thread starter Flow
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Picture
In summary, the picture is of a machine that would rise two feet if stepped on, based on the analogy between a seesaw and a tank of water.
Flow
I would love to hear your feedback on this picture guys. I'm not an engineer, but I drew this several years ago as part of an invention idea (hydraulic fluid used to spin a turbine, energy conversion). I've gone WAY past this in my invention, but, my partner and I revisited my sketch book for an addition pertaining to this drawing. We could have built it in less time than we debated it. He insists the picture is drawn wrong and it wouldn't work. It hurts my brain. Thoughts?

Hydrolic.jpg

Engineering news on Phys.org
Adjusted for clarity.
Hydrolic.jpg

I have no idea what 4 fulcrums and 4 planks of wood have to do with spinning a turbine. I know it doesn't matter to this sub-problem, but you haven't defined what this sub-problem is. What's it supposed to do? You ask if it "works". What works?

Will the left and right corners go up? Depends. The connections between the planks, are they rigid, or will they flex?

Last edited:
The picture is a machine. Applying pressure to corner moves the machine; or at least that's the theory. As a side note, which is irrelevant to the drawing, we are working with compressed fluid flow (fluid dynamics) to transfer hydraulic pressure into electricity.

Flow said:
The picture is a machine. Applying pressure to corner moves the machine; or at least that's the theory.
Moves it where? Across the lawn?

Flow said:
...Thoughts?

View attachment 80729

Most engineers and scientists I've run across, don't draw half as well as you do.
And your physics is correct!
[tex]Area = \frac{Force}{Pressure}[/tex]