Reversible reaction activated only by thermal energy

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of a reversible reaction activated by thermal energy, resulting in a substance that can return to its initial state and release stored thermal energy. The concept is similar to glycolysis, but simpler to implement in a lab setting. The precipitation of sodium acetate from supercooled solutions is suggested as an example, also known as "Hot Ice" and easily made. Additional information can be found by searching "phase change materials thermal storage".
Ueue
Dear all,

I am not an expert of Chemistry and I would like to know if there is a reversible reaction that can be activated only by thermal energy. The result of the reaction should be something which can be brough again to the initial state, releasing again the thermal energy stored. I was thinking to something similar in concept to the glycolyse (in which the solar energy is stored in the molecule of glucose and this energy is released when the molecule is broken), but simpler to implement in lab. As I have understood, the synthesis of glucose is not simple and it does not require only thermal energy.

Please let me know.

Thanks a lot,
Stefano

Chemistry news on Phys.org
The precipitation of sodium acetate from supercooled (achieved by heating) solutions does just that. Google "phase change materials thermal storage".

Related to Reversible reaction activated only by thermal energy

1. What is a reversible reaction activated only by thermal energy?

A reversible reaction activated only by thermal energy is a chemical reaction that can proceed in both the forward and reverse directions, but is only activated by changes in temperature. This means that the reaction can only occur when enough thermal energy is present to overcome the activation energy barrier.

2. How is a reversible reaction different from an irreversible reaction?