Research in anomalous kinetics using fractional calculus

In summary, the individual is an undergraduate physics student who has been hired as a research worker for the summer. They are looking for resources and advice on fractional calculus, anomalous kinetics, and electron transport through amorphous media. They have been assigned an article by Sokolov, Klafter, and Blumen and have found a review article by Metzler and Klafter. They are currently practicing applying the Riemann-Liouville differintegral and their professor has provided them with a MATLAB program for numerical evaluation. They are seeking advice before diving into fractional differential equations.
gazebo_dude
Hi everyone, this is my first post on PF (yaay!). I hope this is in the right forum, if not I don't mind a mod moving this. I'm an undergrad physics student and one of my professors has hired me as a research worker over the summer break.

Has anyone here done any work on fractional calculus, anomalous kinetics, and/or electron transport through amorphous media? I've done a bit of lit review, but there is a lot of stuff out there. :) My prof gave me an article by Sokolov, Klafter, and Blumen (Nov 2002 issue of Physics Today) to start with, and I found a good review article by Metzler and Klafter (doi:10.1016/S0370-1573(00)00070-3). Anyone know of any particularly good resources?

So far I've mainly been getting practice applying the Riemann-Liouville differintegral to various different functions by power series, Laplace transforms, etc. Next my prof wants me to dive into some fractional differential equations. Any advice before I go headlong into it?

Thanks guys. I'm glad to be a part of PF.

The Riemann-Liouville differintegral is this beast:
[tex]_{a}D_{x}^{\alpha} f(x) = \left(\frac{d}{dx}\right)^n \frac{1}{\Gamma(n-\alpha)}\int_{a}^{x} \left( x - y \right)^{n-\alpha-1} f(y) dy[/tex]
where [tex]\Re{\left(n-\alpha\right)}>0[/tex]

Physics news on Phys.org