Required Precision for GPS Distance Measurement

In summary, the conversation discusses how GPS can accurately determine positions by measuring the distance between the observer and several satellites orbiting Earth. The question arises about the required accuracy in the distance to achieve a 2-meter uncertainty, and it is determined that it would require 8 significant digits. The conversation also touches on the concept of significant figures and how they affect accuracy in measurements.
DSG3002

Homework Statement

GPS can be used to determine positions with great accuracy. The system works by determining the distance between the observer and each of the several satellites orbiting Earth. If one of the satellites is at a distance of 20,000 km from you, what percent accuracy in the distance is required if we desire a 2-meter uncertainty? How many significant figures do we need to have in the distance?

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I'm new to Physics and I'm just taking it this year, so all I could figure is converting 20,000 km to 20,000,000 meters. That's all I know to do, though.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
And 2m is how many percent of 20,000,000m?

So that makes the percent accuracy 1 x 10^5 % (or 0.00001%)?

What about significant figures in the distance? I don't understand what the question means by that... (This is from a worksheet I have.)

Chrisas said:
Watch out for your typo...that should be 10^(-5)%. But other than that, I think that's right.

See this for significant digits rules/examples
http://www.batesville.k12.in.us/Phy...t/Significant_Digits.html#counting sig digits

With an uncertainty of 2 meters, the range measurement could be any where from
20,000,002 meters to
19,999,998 meters.

How many digits are required to write those numbers?

So, 8?

Thanks for your help. I figured this would be overlooked since it looks like cake compared to the other questions I've seen asked here.