Relativity of Simultaneity and frames

In summary: ...simultaneously measure the distance between two observers and the time it takes for light to travel between them.
Conservation
Hello everyone, sorry if this is a noob question; I'm just starting out with special relativity.

I was wondering whether relativity of simultaneity is a direct consequence of our ability to "know" being dependent on sight (light reaching a point). If, for example, we could only judge an event occurring based on smell or a rock being thrown towards us from the event point, and the clocks were synchronized accordingly for those methods, would the relativity of simultaneity still hold? Would simultaneous events at one reference still not be simultaneous in another reference frame?

Physics news on Phys.org
Conservation said:
I was wondering whether relativity of simultaneity is a direct consequence of our ability to "know" being dependent on sight (light reaching a point).
No, it is neither a direct nor an indirect consequence. It actually is a consequence of the fact that c is invariant. The speed, c, would be invariant regardless of what mechanism of information transfer we were to use.

The glib answer is that a blind person can still build a radar set.

The deep answer is that there is an invariant speed (one that is the same measured in any inertial frame of reference) as a consequence of the rules of Minkowski geometry and you don't actually need anything to be able to travel at that speed in order to derive those rules.

A possibly more helpful answer is to note that, I would guess, you have been shown Einstein's train as a way to derive relativity. It's very tempting to view that as being all about what people see, although it isn't. The "light clock" is a better way of convincing yourself, to my mind, because it's all about measuring round trips of light pulses, rather than discussing when two remote things actually happened.