Relativity and Distance Measurement in Physics | PF Community Discussion

In summary, Einstein said that the speed of light is the same, no matter where you are or how quickly you are moving. However, due to the effect that velocity has on time, an observer traveling near the speed of light will think that another object is further away than it actually is. Because of this, he will disagree with a stationary observer on how far he actually is from the object. So how can the traveling observer calculate his actual distance correctly? Or is space-time set up such that the both calculations are correct, if you know what I mean?
moonman239_2
Hello PF members!

First of all, let me start off my post by admitting that I have created a duplicate account. My original account was banned for a good reason.
Now, I am studying physics. More specifically, I'm studying relativity. I trust that you all will help me understand what I am studying.

Anyways, I have a question. Einstein said that the speed of light is the same, no matter where you are or how quickly you are moving. However, due to the effect that velocity has on time, an observer traveling near the speed of light will think that another object is further away than it actually is. Because of this, he will disagree with a stationary observer on how far he actually is from the object. So how can the traveling observer calculate his actual distance correctly? Or is space-time set up such that the both calculations are correct, if you know what I mean?

Physics news on Phys.org
moonman239_2 said:
Hello PF members!

First of all, let me start off my post by admitting that I have created a duplicate account. My original account was banned for a good reason.
Now, I am studying physics. More specifically, I'm studying relativity. I trust that you all will help me understand what I am studying.