Relativistic Work: Deriving Formula & Application to Electrons

In summary, the relativistic net force of a particle with a constant speed is expressed by the following equation: \vec F = \frac{d \vec p}{dt} \hat p.
Alettix
Hello,

I have tried to derive a relativistic formula for work using the E = ϒmc^2 equation and that work is equivalent to change in energy. But I have not gotten especially far and everything is messy.
However, when looking at solutions to some harder problems I encountered the formula:
W = pc (1)
which I thought decribes the total energy of a massless particle, but this time it was used in connection with an electron changing directions (velocity but not speed) in a magnetic field.
So my question is, do you know if equation (1) holds for work done on/by all kinds of particles or do you have any other suggestion?

Thank you! :)

Physics news on Phys.org
I am no expert on this topic, yet I know of one beautiful mathematical relationship that you may notice some familiar arguments within in it.

##E^2 = (m_0 c^2)^2 + (p c)^2##

where,

##E = γ m_0 c^2##

##p = γ m_0 v## (massive particles)

##p = \frac{h}{λ}## (photons)

This equations applies to all particles, whether massive or massless.

Now for work on relativistic particle: the definition of mechanical work gives the following.

##W = \int_{\vec r_i}^{\vec r_f} \vec F \cdot d\vec r##

where,

##\vec F = \frac{d\vec p}{dt}##

One needs to find the derivative of relativistic momentum with respect to time to find the net relativistic force on a particle. Then, it would be plugged back in the work equation.

##W = \int_{\vec r_i}^{\vec r_f} (\frac{d}{dt}(γm_0 \vec v)) \cdot d\vec r##

Last edited:
Work done on a particle = change in k.e. of that particle.
K.E. = E - E0 = mc2 - m0c2
E = total energy of particle
E0 = rest energy of particle.
m = relativistic mass
m0 = rest mass