Rearranging acceleration formulas

In summary, the conversation is about finding the initial speed, u/si, given the values a=1.8m/s/s, v/sf=7.6m/s, and t=2.5s using the equation a=v-u/t. The symbols v/sf and u/si represent the final and initial speed respectively, and the conversation also touches on the unconventional notation used in the problem. The rearranged equation v=at+u is used to solve for the final velocity.
lornf

Homework Statement

a=1.8m/s/s
v/sf=7.6m/s
u/si=?
t=2.5s

Find the initial speed[/B]

Homework Equations

a=v-u/t

The Attempt at a Solution

a=v-u/t
1.8=7.6-u/2.5
u=7.6+1.8/2.8
u=3.357...
u=3.36m/s

Is this correct? Sorry if the layout is messy this is my first time using it.

Physics news on Phys.org
lornf said:
v/sf=7.6m/s
u/si=?
Can you explain in plain English what these are?

kuruman said:
Can you explain in plain English what these are?
v/sf is the final speed and u/si is the initial speed. Sorry our school teaches them in unconventional ways.

lornf said:
a=v-u/t

That's not dimensionally correct. ##v## does not have the same units as ##a## or ##u/t##. You might want to take a look at your motion equations again.

lornf said:
v/sf is the final speed and u/si is the initial speed. Sorry our school teaches them in unconventional ways.
It's OK, as long as we both understand what the symbols stand for. In your notation, the acceleration is $$a=\frac{v/sf-u/si}{t}$$ Can you solve this equation for ##v/sf##?

kuruman said:
It's OK, as long as we both understand what the symbols stand for. In your notation, the acceleration is $$a=\frac{v/sf-u/si}{t}$$ Can you solve this equation for ##v/sf##?
Well without values, to rearrange the equation it would be -
a=v-u/t
v-u=at (a x t)
v=at+u

Is this what you mean? Did you want me to rearrange?