Quitting full time job prematurely?

• Other
  • Thread starter Jese James
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Job Time
In summary: Have you talked to your new employer about doing non-classified work for them until your security clearance is granted? Yes. Often times, you can spend this time getting familiar with the company, doing training and whatnot, until you are able to work on the classified stuff. Even if you're doing nothing but being a go-fer, you build up seniority at this company without going thru the hassle of finding another temporary position, which you're going to quit when things work out.
Jese James
I graduated with a masters degree in computer engineering this year and I have a good job lined up with a defense contractor, but I am in the process of being investigated for a secret security clearance. Unfortunately, I can't start work until the government has granted me clearance, and I have financial needs such as paying for an apartment/repaying school loans. I don't want to be a financial burden to my family so I need to find a job, but finding temporary work in my field of study is difficult (aside from trying to freelance as a software developer), so i guess my question is, should I apply to full-time engineering positions for other companies and then resign when I receive my clearance anywhere from 2-4 months after starting? Or do i bite the bullet and find a low paying temp job somewhere where I won't burn any bridges?

Physics news on Phys.org
Finding a full-time engineering position may take a few weeks anyway. So if the main problem boils down to: need cash now, you'll have to be a little more flexible with what kind of position you'll accept. There's no dishonour in taking a lower paying, less skill-intensive job to pay the bills until you can get something that's a little more inline with your skill set and career aspirations.

Likes Ben Espen, Fervent Freyja and Jese James
Choppy said: