Questions: Gott-Li Can a Universe Create Itself?

• A
  • Thread starter AntHak
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Universe
In summary, the Gott-Li model proposes a self-creating universe through the concept of a closed timelike curve. The laws of physics are seen as existing outside of the universe, and there is no clear creation event in this model. Some may view this as a solution to the first cause problem, but others do not see a creation event at all.
AntHak
Hello, this is my first post here. I have a couple questions regarding the Gott-Li model of a self creating universe, proposed in "Can the Universe Create Itself?", Phys. Rev. D 58, (1998).
First, I should disclose that I am an amateur and may hold some misconceptions. I tried to keep these questions based in science but, recognize that some may border philosophical, I hope they are valid nonetheless.

1. I was under the impression that the laws of physics would be emergent in this model, but the author's closing statement "Do the laws of physics prevent the Universe from being its own mother?" confuses me. Does this suggest the laws of physics governed the existence of the initial Universe/CTC?

2. If a CTC caused our inflationary Universe/Multiverse, couldn't this have happened more than once (i.e. multiple/infinite CTCs creating their own inflationary multiverses separate from our own)?

3. To what extent is the Universe created from nothing in this model? Would the initial CTC be a "brute fact", or room for "turtles" farther down?

Thank you for any answers!

Space news on Phys.org
AntHak said:
1. I was under the impression that the laws of physics would be emergent in this model, but the author's closing statement "Do the laws of physics prevent the Universe from being its own mother?" confuses me. Does this suggest the laws of physics governed the existence of the initial Universe/CTC?