Questions about time dilation, special relativity, etc.

In summary: Even assuming the above is true, and the speed of light is the same for all observers, just how is that supposed to be correlated to actual "time"? Just because 2 people see something differently, like an optical illusion, I hardly see how a difference in perception of light, equates to an actual difference in the speed of passing time.The speed of light is constant, but the time it takes for a light signal to travel between two points can be different depending on the relative motion of the senders and receivers.4) What real proof is there of time dilation? Yes I have heard certain particles decay slower when moving fast, or that a caesium clock, or other clocks,
MX Maniac
I am a newbie to quantum physics but have been actively reading much about it for a couple weeks. However there are a few questions I simply cannot seem to find the answer to in regards to time dialation, the relationship between speed of light and time, etc. It seems like many sources repeat the same things over and over, with little proof that I can find as to why we believe them. I hope someone can help answer some or all of these things.

1) What exactly made Einstein correlate the speed of light with the speed of time? What data did he have, or what evidence was out there to link these seemingly unrelated things? What made him think moving fast would change time? I'm aware of the light clock example, but this seems more like theory regarding a matter of visual perspective than something that could change the speed of a human aging.

2) How could light possibly be the same speed for all observers? What a relatively stationary person fired a laser alongside a very fast moving person, and they both observed the same laser? If they both observed it at light speed, they would both be seeing the same laser in 2 completely separate places. What evidence is there to even make Einstein or anyone believe this is true?