Question for Schottky diode

• Thread starter Guessist
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Diode
In summary, the conversation discusses the difference in frequency response between Schottky diodes and pn diodes. The speaker is seeking help in understanding why Schottky diodes have a better frequency response. They also mention having studied semiconductor basics and reviewing recently.
Guessist
I studied semiconductor basic long time ago... So I've reviewed these days.
For a while, i got a question about Schottky diode's frequency response.
That is Schottky diode has more awesome frequency response than pn diode.
Why does Schottky diode has good frequency response?
Somebody help me... I need your help...

Engineering news on Phys.org
Guessist said:
I studied semiconductor basic long time ago... So I've reviewed these days.
For a while, i got a question about Schottky diode's frequency response.
That is Schottky diode has more awesome frequency response than pn diode.
Why does Schottky diode has good frequency response?
Somebody help me... I need your help...

Welcome to the PF.

What has your reading told you so far about the differences between standard and Schottky diodes? What kind of property would affect the frequency response of a diode?

Related to Question for Schottky diode

1. What is a Schottky diode and how does it work?

A Schottky diode is a type of semiconductor diode that is commonly used in electronic circuits. It is made up of a metal-semiconductor junction, which allows for fast switching and low forward voltage drop. When a positive voltage is applied to the anode and a negative voltage is applied to the cathode, current will flow through the diode. However, if the polarity is reversed, the diode will act as an open circuit and no current will flow.

2. What are the advantages of using a Schottky diode?