Question about torque and center of mass

In summary, the conversation discusses the concepts of torque and how it is applicable to rotating objects. The first question is whether torque can be calculated if the particle is not rotating at a fixed distance around a fixed axis. The second question is about the treatment of a rigid body as a particle-like object and how gravitational forces are replaced by a resultant force at the center of mass. The final clarification is whether torque is only applicable to objects rotating around a fixed axis or if it can also apply to objects rotating around a fixed point.
AGC
I am a beginner and this is my first post.

We know torque ## \vec T = \vec r × \vec F ## Now, should r be fixed in magnitude? I mean can I calculate torque only if the particle is rotating at a fixed distance around a fixed axis? I am having this idea because torque is explained (from where I read) using an analogy with doors.

Second question. I read that generally a system of forces acting on a rigid body can not be reduced to a single force equal to the vector sum of the forces. Then I get confused because in case of weight, we replace gravitational forces on each particle of a rigid body with a resultant force through the center of mass.
Will someone please explain?

Physics news on Phys.org
about your first question , your question is how can we deal with torque when r is variable 'not constant in magnitude' ?

Last edited:
About your second question , [As I know] we treat the rigid body as a particle-like object so that the gravitational force will act only on its center of mass.

Maged Saeed said:
about your first question , your question is how can we deal with work when r is variable not constant 'in magnitude' ?
I think my first question was not clear enough. I asked if the concept of torque is applicable only if the particle (or body) is rotating about an axis? And should it rotate in a fixed radius? Sorry if the question is of very intro level.