Question about time travel to the past

In summary: Earth.This is because the high speed observer will have passed the light from the event from PC to Earth, so according to the local reference frame, the event already happened when he arrived. However, according to the global reference frame, the event still hasn't happened yet. This is what Stephen Hawking was getting at when he said that the order of events would differ for two observers with different velocities. He was saying that the event A on Earth would happen before the event B on Proxima Centauri, according to the local reference frame, but the event B
JohnnyGui
Good day to you all,

I have been reading Stephen Hawking's book "A Briefer History of Time" (yes, I'm a novice ;)) and I need some verification on if my understanding is correct regarding his theory/conclusion saying that if one travels faster-than-light, he would be able to travel into the past and that the order of events would differ for 2 observers with different velocities.

Here's what he says:
- Event A occurs on Earth
- Event B occurs on Proxima Centauri (PC) one year later Earth's time after event A
- Earth and PC are 4 light-years apart
- In order for an observer on Earth to experience both events, he'd have to travel faster than light to PC after event A occurs

If my understanding is correct, does this mean that the observer, while going faster-than-light during his travel to PC, he would "pass" the lightbeams of event A going to PC along with him? He'd then reach PC, experience event B and then receive the lightbeams of event A afterwards? Wouldn't he be experiencing the events in the order [A (when he was on Earth)] - B - [A (receiving the lightbeams while standing on PC)]? Is my statement correct as to what he meant with traveling to the past by going faster-than-light?

The part after that makes less sense to me, it's about an observer standing on PC and moving away from Earth at light speed: