Question about the theory of relativity.

In summary: GR is a classical theory, and QM is a quantum theory. GR is a geometric theory and QM is a mathematical theory. In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of quantum physics and Einstein's theory of relativity. The speaker expresses interest in understanding Einstein's accomplishments and asks for a simplified explanation of the theory. Another speaker recommends reading Einstein's book "Relativity" and clarifies that the speed of light is a constant regardless of the amount of light present. They also suggest taking an introductory physics class before delving into complex theories. The conversation also briefly touches on the relationship between quantum physics and relativity.
matthayzon89
Hello,
I am fairly new to quantum physics and I recently became interested in Einstein and his accomplishments b/c I never knew why he was considered a genious and I was curious...

So, I took a few minutes to try to understand the way the theory of relativity works, which by the way, I am having a difficult time understanding... (can anyone break it down for me in an easy to understand way?)

What I DID get from Einsteins theory of relativity is that Energy= Mass * C^2 <-speed of light squared.

This implies that: if say a rock weighs .5 lbs and you multiply it by the speed of light squared, then you get the amount of potential energy that the rock might have. You locating the rock in the first place is do to having light hit the rock.

So, what if someone someone was in complete darkness with a plate somewhere in the room, the plate cannot be located b/c it is too dark. Since the speed of light does not apply to this case b/c we are in complete darkness, doesn't this theory incorrectly imply that the plate has little to NO potential energy, since the light in the room is near zero?

Physics news on Phys.org
Find Einstein's little paperback, "Relativity", by Crown publishers, and spend some quality time with it.