Question about superposition and measurement

In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of quantum mechanics, specifically the ideas of superpositions and the measurement problem. The speaker has watched many documentaries on the subject but has not seen anyone mention their question about whether it is possible for only the qualities of a particle to switch from a superposition to a definite position, rather than the whole particle itself. They propose this idea as a possible solution and request feedback on its validity. However, it is pointed out that the speaker's understanding of superposition and wave-particle duality is not entirely accurate and they are advised to seek more information before forming a picture.
edenenix15
Hello everyone. I've gotten interested in quantum mechanics after binge watching a ton of documentaries about it. I've grown particularly interested in superpositions and the measurement problem. I'm not very good at math, so I can't understand the math behind it, but I like to take the information from theories and experiments and use that information to come to conclusions. Out of all those documentaries and educational videos explaining quantum mechanics that I saw, I haven't seen anyone mention what I'm going to ask about.

Please correct me if I get any of this wrong but it seems all of them are saying that a "thing" (a particle, atom, object, ect) can only be in one of two states: a complete superposition where no particular quality of it is collapsed and defined, OR a much more definite state (but not completely definite because of the uncertainty principle I think). And the collapse of that "thing" happens when something measures it. This made me think: "then why is it I trip over a rock, even though I did not see it there?" And: "why do, for example, new planets we discover have the specific particular and persistent qualities even when we stop measuring them?".